Be the Impossible

"It's kind of fun to do the impossible" – Walt Disney

Almost time to start 13.1 training!

Leave a comment

I can’t believe it but I am now running 25 minutes straight.  Granted my runs are sloooooow but it’s more then I’ve ever done.   I’m actually about to finish week 7 (last run tomorrow) of my c25k training program.

 

I realize I’ve been pretty pathetic on keeping up with posts.  However,  for all the I-don’t-think-I-can-run folks out there:   I didn’t think I could either!   Running has always been a bucket list item for me.   But when I hit week 5 of my C25k (Couch to 5k for newbies) I thought I was a gonner.   I had to run longer then I ever remember running before.

 

Thankfully I had my friends at #Team runDisney.    <— If you haven’t found them you can check out the group on Twitter (@TeamrunDisney) or on Facebook!

They gave me great advice on what to do including slowing my pace.  And now here I am!  A week from running 5k distances!  And honestly,  I’m pretty sure I could tomorrow if I tried (but I’m sticking to my programs… all about the mental game at this point and finishing what I started).

SO, I now feel like I can call myself a runner instead of a runner in training.   🙂   A slow runner, but still doing laps around the me of this time last year! 🙂

Below: After an especially rough run last week.  I was supposed to do 20something minutes without stopping but I stopped twice in the first 10 minutes.  BUUUUT,  THEN I restarted and ran the whole assigned distance.  I had a little Rocky moment at the end of that run. 🙂   AND important lesson learned :  small strides on hills!!! 🙂

Image

Leave a comment